Updated

Bloons Blitz Heroes Guide: Attacks, Upgrades, Toys, and Survival

Learn how Bloons Blitz heroes work, including health, run upgrades, team bonuses, toys, and the documented mechanics.

Bloons Blitz Heroes Guide: Attacks, Upgrades, Toys, and Survival

How heroes work in Bloons Blitz

Your hero is both your starting character and the one Bloons target, so choosing and protecting them shapes every run. This guide to Bloons Blitz heroes explains their role, health, upgrades, and out-of-run leveling using the mechanics currently documented. Understanding Bloons Blitz heroes also helps clarify how they differ from the Monkeys that join your team during a run.

The Bloons wiki describes heroes as directly controlled characters with an automatic main attack against nearby Bloons. Monkeys join the team during the run, but the player does not directly control them. Bloons target the hero and ignore the Monkeys. A hero starts with 5 HP, loses one health each time a Bloon touches them, and the run ends if the hero runs out of health.

Hero detailWhat the reference says
Starting roleYou begin each run with your chosen hero
Main attackAutomatically attacks nearby Bloons
HealthStarts with 5 HP
Damage from contactEach Bloon that touches the hero removes 1 health
Run-ending conditionThe run ends if the hero runs out of health
Player controlThe hero is controlled directly; other Monkeys are not

A hero starts with five health, and each Bloon that touches them removes one point. Five such contacts would use up the stated starting health, at which point the run ends. A tip that follows from this mechanic is to keep the listed health and contact damage in mind while playing.

Heroes also have some interactions that the other Monkeys do not: according to the wiki, only the hero can pick up collectibles, activate Encounters, and trigger evasion. Those are three mechanics associated with the hero. The reference does not describe how to activate evasion or explain the effects of individual Encounters.

Heroes and their run upgrades

The reference lists Quincy and Gwen as heroes in Bloons Blitz. It also says that Obyn Greenfoot is currently unobtainable, although players can unlock toys for him. These details describe the heroes named in the wiki entry; they do not establish a complete roster beyond those listed there.

Bloons Blitz — Heroes and their run upgradesImage: YouTube / Tewtiy

Hero or statusWhat the reference says
QuincyListed as a hero
GwenListed as a hero
Obyn GreenfootToys can be unlocked, but the hero is currently unobtainable

The wiki describes 19 upgrades for each hero. During a run, a hero can have up to 10 upgrades, compared with a limit of five for other Monkeys. The reference does not provide a complete upgrade list or explain every upgrade’s effects, so those details cannot be summarized here.

One special detail is that each hero has a hidden tier 4 upgrade. The wiki says it becomes accessible by choosing two specific tier 3 upgrades. Its example is Quincy’s Triple Tricks, which can appear only if Quincy has both Splitting Shots and Triple Shot. The example names both required tier 3 upgrades and the resulting tier 4 upgrade.

Upgrade ruleDocumented detail
19 upgrades per heroEach hero has a set of upgrades
Up to 10 hero upgrades per runThe hero’s run limit is higher than the five-upgrade limit stated for other Monkeys
Hidden tier 4 upgradeA specific pair of tier 3 choices can make it accessible
Quincy exampleTriple Tricks requires both Splitting Shots and Triple Shot

For Quincy’s documented example, both Splitting Shots and Triple Shot are required for Triple Tricks to appear. That condition is specific to the example the wiki provides. The reference does not name other hidden tier 4 upgrades or their tier 3 requirements.

The reference also includes a player video transcript, but the transcript consists of brief reactions and character voice lines. It does not explain how to unlock heroes, reach level 20, or choose an upgrade path. It therefore does not provide step-by-step progression details for Bloons Blitz heroes.

Leveling heroes outside a run

Heroes can be leveled up outside a run by spending toys, the documented leveling resource for Bloons Blitz heroes. Each hero has nine toys: five Common, three Rare, and one Epic. Different levels require different sets of toys, though the reference does not give the requirements for each level. It also does not state how many toys are needed, where each toy drops, or how quickly a hero levels.

The documented level-up bonuses resemble those for Monkeys, with one difference specified by the wiki: hero stat buffs apply to the whole team. Heroes also unlock additional sticker spaces at some levels. Each hero has a separate sticker notebook, and each begins with a different set of spaces blocked.

Out-of-run featureDocumented detail
Leveling resourceToys
Toys per heroNine total
Rarity breakdownFive Common, three Rare, one Epic
Level requirementsDifferent levels need different sets of toys
Stat bonusesApply to the whole team
Sticker notebooksEach hero has a separate notebook
Sticker spacesSome levels unlock additional spaces; starting blocked spaces differ

The wiki describes team-wide stat buffs as part of hero leveling. It does not list the individual stat bonuses or specify which levels grant them. It also does not provide the toy sets required at each level. Those are the limits of the leveling details in the reference.

Sticker notebooks are also described as hero-specific: each hero has their own notebook, and their starting blocked spaces differ. The source says that some levels unlock additional sticker spaces, but it does not explain sticker effects or give a full map of notebook layouts. It names Quincy and Gwen as heroes and separately notes Obyn Greenfoot’s toy availability and current unobtainable status.

Sticker detailWhat the reference says
Notebook ownershipEach hero has their own sticker notebook
Starting spacesThe spaces blocked off differ by hero
Additional spacesSome levels unlock more sticker spaces
Sticker effectsNot specified in the reference

The reference does not give a leveling order, toy costs, or detailed sticker effects. It also does not say that every hero starts with the same number of open sticker spaces. The confirmed points are that each hero has a notebook, starting blocked spaces differ, and some levels unlock more spaces.

Practical tips for choosing and protecting your hero

The source material provides a limited set of hero-specific combat details, so a guide to Bloons Blitz heroes can stick to those documented mechanics. Your hero starts with five health, loses one health whenever a Bloon makes contact, and is the only character that can pick up collectibles, activate Encounters, and trigger evasion. For Bloons Blitz heroes, keeping those contact and interaction rules in mind is a practical way to apply the documented details. A tip that follows directly from these rules is to keep the hero’s health and the interaction requirements in mind during a run.

Use this checklist to keep the documented details together:

  • Track the stated health rule. A hero starts with 5 HP, and each Bloon touch removes one health.
  • Remember which character handles interactions. The wiki says only the hero can pick up collectibles, activate Encounters, and trigger evasion.
  • Note the Quincy upgrade condition. Triple Tricks can appear only when Quincy has both Splitting Shots and Triple Shot.
  • Keep the upgrade limits in view. Heroes have 19 upgrades described in total and can have up to 10 upgrades per run; the stated limit for other Monkeys is five.
  • Distinguish leveling from a run. Outside a run, heroes level up by spending toys; their stat buffs apply to the whole team.
  • Recall the notebook details. Each hero has a separate sticker notebook, and starting blocked spaces differ.

These details do not establish which hero has higher attack stats or describe movement and evasion controls. The reference names Quincy and Gwen, but does not compare their attacks or provide encounter strategies. It also does not give a complete upgrade catalog. The information here therefore covers only the roles, limits, and examples the wiki actually documents.

The reference says Obyn Greenfoot is currently unobtainable, while toys for him can be unlocked. These are separate details: the wiki reports toy availability and the hero’s unobtainable status, but does not explain a way to obtain him. The official Bloons Blitz App Store listing is an external store page for the game.

FAQ

How many Bloons Blitz heroes are listed in the reference?

The reference lists Quincy and Gwen as heroes. It also mentions Obyn Greenfoot, who is currently unobtainable, even though his toys can be unlocked. It does not give a complete count of selectable heroes.

How much health does a hero start with?

A hero starts with 5 HP. Each Bloon that touches the hero removes one health, and the run ends when the hero runs out of health.

How many upgrades can a hero have in one run?

A hero can have up to 10 upgrades per run. The wiki says each hero has 19 upgrades in total and describes a hidden tier 4 upgrade that requires two specific tier 3 choices.

How do I level up Bloons Blitz heroes?

The reference says heroes level up outside a run by spending toys. Each hero has nine toys—five Common, three Rare, and one Epic—and different levels require different sets. The reference does not list exact toy costs or level requirements.

Official channels for news, updates and player help: